The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Glance Off vs. Stop - What's Going On In Horse's Mind

I'm curious to know if there is a mental or emotional component involved in glancing off vs. stopping at a jump. My guy is a very solid and experienced training/prelim campaigner but, like many, he has to be ridden to every jump. I'm a true amateur (I ride only on week-ends) but he gets ridden by an upper level dressage rider (another amateur) 4 days a week. He was ridden by a pro before I got him (he's 12 yrs. old). My question is that he never stops at a jump no matter how awkward the approach but he will fly by/glance off (always to the left) if he finds himself in trouble or unsure. It's not a huge problem but when it happens it always happens at the last stride and it can be a bit disconcerting.

I suspect he doesn't feel that I am committed to the jump or he is not focused on his job and then looks up and says "oh, there's a jump in front of me" and bails to the left (my fault for not getting him focused).

Anyway, I guess my question is is he telegraphing anything by always glancing off to the left rather than stopping when he gets unsure, surprised, etc. at a jump? I mean why one instead of the other? I'd rather have a runout than a stop but I'm just trying to understand what goes on in a horse's mind when they decide to do one rather than the other.

I can't answer the why but I can comment on one part of your thought process. At that last stride he is NOT looking up and suddenly seeing the fence and saying to himself "oh, there's a jump in front of me" and decides to bail out. At that point, the jump is in his blind spot. Ie he can't see it any more. By 3 strides from a fence, a hors is jumping blind. That is the reason for not "picking" at a horse in those last 3 strides. He has already made his mental image of what he is doing, etc.