The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Godspeed, Dude

I feel like a horrible person tonight, and need some hugs and warm thoughts - been getting a wonderful ear from a dear friend, but am really hurting.
    My DSO and I have been boarding for 2 years at my BO's....great lady and we have seen many cats come and go to the typical things that happen to a herd of farm kitties....lots of litters, some of whom get rehomed, some who are kept, and some who meet fates. One stunningly beautiful one who is somewhere here in my living room (my guys are strictly indoor) when the rest of her litter got killed.
    Every night I give them a can of wet cat food -started it early on because they seemed to need a bit of extra when it was really cold. Well, being soft in the head, I kept giving it to them - so I am jokingly referred to as the Gooshie Lady (re: Caturday). They hear my truck and come running, and my DSO will get out and make sure everybody is clear while I park.
    Today went horribly wrong.
    With it being wet, one cat led my truck up the driveway (I was going at a slow walk speed) while the others were in teh barn, and she suddenly wheeled and turned and looked back. My DSO said "You went over something", and as I looked back, I saw an orange form lying beside the driveway. I ran back to see Dude lying along the driveway - he had been hanging out waiting for me under my BO"s boat or my horse trailer, and did something he never did before - ran under my truck. I still can't fathom it...I was going so slow that it wouldnt even read on my gauges.
    I killed him instantly - he gave one shiver as I stroked him, and he was gone. We buried him in our paddock facing the barn, and where he always got his share of dinner.