The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default I'm Starting to Hate My Saddle :(

I bought my CWD last year after saddle searching for awhile. It looks like it's custom made for me and fits my abnormally long femurs perfectly. It's a deep seat, which I prefer, and the pommel is quite high. I knew the pommel was on the high side when I bought it, but riding my one horse daily in it, (with occasional days of a few more horses), it didn't seem to be a huge problem; however, I now ride 5-7 horses a day and the pommel is just killing me! By the third horse, it's just painful! I've owned deep seated saddles in the past, but never with any pommel problems.

I'm torn because the saddle is gorgeous and is really nice to ride in for 1-2 horses, but after that I hate riding in it. I'm a broke college student and this saddle cost me a lot when I purchased it, so I don't think I could go out and purchased a decent quality/fitting used saddle unless it was really cheap. I also don't have a saddle to ride in in the meantime if this saddle sold.

Should I just try to deal with what I have? Any ideas?

I also have very long femurs and have found pretty much every saddle that can accommodate my legs (especially with shorter stirrups) feels high in the pommel. I am interested in what people have to say! I have always wondered if it is some connection between how our legs make us sit in the saddle. No stirrup work + high pommel = baaaad.