The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Losing Weight -

Since I turned 45 I have gained weight around the middle - about 10 lbs, I would like to lose that weight - question is how. I watch what I eat, my SO had heart surgery last year so we eat healthy. I ride 2 - 3 horses a night. I walk on my lunch hour. What other things can I try? I am not overweight, but I still would like to lose the 10 lbs before show season next year. Any ideas?

The last 10 always seem to be the hardest. I've lost 40 in a year, but I've been working on the last few for about 6 months now. The progress is slow, but it's happening and I've got 2 to go now.

What has helped me is strength training. I hate gyms, so I mostly do body weight resistance exercises with some hand weights or a band for added resistance. I'm almost finished with Jillian Michaels' Body Revolution program and will then move on to P90X. A lot of women avoid heavy lifting because they are afraid they will get "man muscles". This is absolutely not the case, since we lack the testosterone necessary for that to happen.

Make sure you are getting plenty of protein, some carbs, and healthy fats and eating enough. One of the most common mistakes in weight loss is undereating. I log all of my food at www.myfitnesspal.com There is a CotH group over there as well, but it is fairly inactive. A lot of folks who joined us at the start of the year have dropped out. http://www.myfitnesspal.com/groups/h...-horse-fitness

If you join MFP, look me up. My username there is skylark94
    "Is it ignorance or apathy? Hey, I don't know and I don't care." ~Jimmy Buffett

Sukhoikris on MFP.

I've lost 18 since July.

I've been hitting the gym every morning with Mr. Honda and I make sure I do 1min bursts of "go as hard as I physically can" and then recover on a lower pace through out my workout.