The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Angry Misery loves (needs) company! Unemployed job seekers check in.

Unemployed since 7/1.

I think I've reached job hunting overload or my brain is shutting down. Every job description registers in my brain as "blahblahblah". Tired and burned out.

How is everyone else doing? What are you doing to fight the job hunting blues?

I am unemployed too, as a matter of fact have been almost 50% of the time since I graduated in 2008. My problem is that I am overqualified and that jobs that match my experience are few and far between. We relocated to a new city in 2008 when my spouse got a permanent job, and other than the occasional contract it has been extremely difficult to find employment. The most frustrating part is that I am willing to take jobs I am overqualified for, but seldom get offers. I have almost reached the point where I want to lie by omission and strike some degrees off my resume.

My way to deal with it is to look at the bright side. I am fortunate that my spouse has a good permanent job so neither I nor my animals will starve. I have lots of time to volunteer, spend with my horse and my dog, help out my family, decorate and organize the house we bought last year. And while I wish we had more money, I have made the decision that unless things get tighter financially I will not take a soul-sucking job just not to be unemployed, I would rather spend the time trying to make a positive difference in my life and that of others.

1 members found this post helpful.

I got a part time job at REI, so I've got a little bit of money coming in and it's kind of fun. I actually started thinking "umm well maybe I could just work my way up the retail chain for a career?" I'm living with my sister and her family, taking care of her kids when she's at work so at least I feel like I'm contributing to SOMETHING.