The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Spin-off: Western dressage

Only recently I have heard of Western dressage. Reading some of the feedback out there I have heard the diehard dressage riders stick the nose up in the air of the thought of “western dressage”. They will quickly dismiss you if you are riding something that is not a warm blood, fancy saddles, or anything like that. Seeing something different and not mainstream scares them.

When I started riding dressage a few years ago I rode an older quarter horse. He was not built for dressage but he tried his heart out. We stuck to Intro A & B because of soundness and my fear of cantering. We had fair scores but one of the saddest things I heard once at a show is that the Intro A & B is not real dressage and shouldn’t be allowed. I was so very angry because how do you expect to get new participants in the sport if you are dismissing someone just starting out or doesn’t fit into the dressage square hole.

Dressage is not just for the very rich and Olympic bond riders. Proper dressage training gets the rider using the correct aids. Not just hanging on the horse’s mouth. The rider’s learn to use their seat, legs and other moveable body parts. So many horses in other disciplines canter on the forehand and evade the bit. The western dressage horses will learn to use their hind end and be off the forehand. The horse will learn to lift the back and use new muscles that are not traditionally used in western.

I am hoping that my GMO decides to add Western Dressage classes to the schooling shows and recognized shows. It will open up the to a new market sector to the shows. This is income that is coming into the shows. More riders and more tests = more income. I will welcome any western dressage rider to a show that I am at.