The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Default Western dressage??? Really???

I am a dressage trainer and was shocked when I attended a recent schooling show with my students and witnessed western dressage. Now don't crucify me...it's just my penny worth opinion. Lol... I also talked to a few friends of mine who are judges and they hate judging it. They said they have no clue in how to score it. The horses are no where near forward, nor are they in any sort of contact. To me (again, my penny worth opinion) this belongs at a WESTERN show... NOT a dressage show. I will stay out of their "show pens" and they should stay out of our "arenas". I have respect for western riders. My boyfriend happens to be a Reiner, but I think if they want to ride a dressage test then they should go forward to the bit like the rest of us. I understand it is bringing much needed funds to schooling shows but what's next???? Saddleseat?! Opinions???

2 members found this post helpful.

There ARE rules for western dressage, and they request contact/etc. The work should be similar. Not just pattern riding. There IS gaited dressage already, and that is most pattern riding (worse yet when they have pacing horses trying to do lateral work which IS impossible).
    I.D.E.A. yoda

Kind of tired discussion by now but I guess I still get fired up - so here goes:

Quote Originally Posted by Benito21 View Post
    I understand it is bringing much needed funds to schooling shows but what's next???? Saddleseat?! Opinions???
    Yes, and as IYODA said:
    Quote Originally Posted by ideayoda View Post
    There ARE rules for western dressage, and they request contact/etc. The work should be similar. Not just pattern riding. There IS gaited dressage already, and that is most pattern riding (worse yet when they have pacing horses trying to do lateral work which IS impossible).