The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Retraining a "problem horse"

Long story as to how the horse got to this point. All physical reasons for any bad behavior have been resolved. Now I am left with behavioral issues I need to resolve. I am a new rider to this horse so issues were not created by me. I am an amateur and not a professional but have brought a handful of young horses along. Horse is no longer a youngster so dealing with behaviors that have been going on for a while. Horse has NOT been trained by a dressage trainer and has never been ridden with dressage basics in mind. Horse most definitely needs a career change and I am the last hope for horse becoming a solid citizen under saddle. (For the record, the last trainer has minimal issues with horse but works around the horse's issues. That is, does not solve the issues so that others can ride the horse. And no one but the trainer has much success riding horse.)

The nuts and bolts of it is that the horse was never taught to accept contact. She has caught on quickly at the walk. Trot will SOMETIMES start nicely and then she starts resisting contact. Nothing dangerous and quiet persistence can work here. Canter is pretty much a disaster. She will canter politely only if you get up in 2 point and throw away the reins. Touch her mouth and she bucks - use too much leg and she bucks. Do anything she doesn't like at the canter and she bucks and/or speeds up to the point it is not pleasant.

So, my plan is as follows:
    1. Realize this is NOT a quick fix but a longer term project. I am thinking 6-12 months.
    2. Start longeing in side reins. Obviously start them long so as not to have a train wreck on my hands. Have tested this and appears it will be doable.
    3. Build a foundation from the walk and keep working on the trot in a quiet, persistent manner.