The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Questions about USDF rated shows..

I am mainly a hunter/jumper rider but now have a horse who is not hunter material, but really shines in the dressage ring. We have been to several schooling shows and scored very well (70%) at training level. I am looking forward to showing first level next year, but need some help in planning my goals!

I've searched the USDF website and COTH forums but I am confused on a few subjects:

1) I would love to do some rated shows, but talk to me about regionals. I've seen the 'Q' listed next to classes on the program. Is this reasonable goal for a newbie? How do you qualify?

2) Does is matter if you are not a US citizen? (I am a permanent resident, but not a citizen).

3) Is previcox an illegal substance?

Thank you in advance for any help!

PS. I am in love with RIDE TIMES! I don't know if I can go back to all the waiting around in the hunter shows now!

Regionals are a great goal! The qualifying score depends on the level. Assuming you are an amateur under USEF rules, training level requires 2 scores over 63%. First level requires two scores over 62%. The scores must be from different judges, at different shows, and they must be earned within the show year.

If you wanted to ride in the First Level Championship, Adult Amateur...

You would have to go to a rated show, enter First Level Test 3, and designate it as Qualifying on your entry form. You pay an extra $10 with your entry for this. If you get over a 63%, this counts as 1 score for regionals. You also have to make sure that your memberships are up to date before you earn your scores (USEF and USDF Participating-not Group).

Go to another show with a different judge, do the same thing, and you get your second one.