The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Diagnosis: Wobblers - need advise

Hello everybody, this is my first time posting here so please bare with me

I recently took in (rescued) a 2.5 arab colt, Rocco, who came to me as a stallion, got him gelded 3 days later. I noticed something was off in his movement from day one, but was told by people that he was boarding/training with people that he just has a weak stifle. I had my vet come out and look at him, and he said wobblers or epm. Rocco doesn't trip or fall, he just walks like he is drunk, like he doesn't know where his hind legs are, drags his toes and hits his fronts with his rears.

I had him x-rayed yesterday, and unfortunately was told it's wobblers, between C5-6 and C6-7. The doctor did not do the standard "wobblers exam" on him, he just looked at Rocco being walked in a tight circle and rated him at 4 out 5. I thought 4 was where a horse can barely walk? Rocco crosses his leg when turning, and doesn't swing his other leg out.

I was given 2 options - euthanasia or a growth restriction diet. Since the vet assured me that wobblers doesn't cause pain, I am going to give the diet a shot.

Was wondering if anybody has dealt with wobblers before, and what the outcome was?

I have requested copies of his x-rays and will post them when I get them.

Here is a video of Rocco last week:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L19u7...eature=mh_lolz

This boy is so sweet, and I am heartbroken. If I can't give him the quality of life he deserves, then I will make the right decision, but I want to know I have at least tried....