The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Saddle for the short backed horse

I've had a few short coupled horses and they've gone just fine in my Advantage, but I've got a 3 year old that is even more short coupled - do the "curvey" panels work better for these horses, or do they just end up rocking on the horse?

Although short coupled, she is very swingy and supple through the back - I'd like to keep that quality. I've never tried a curvey paneled saddle before - my horses all tend to have pretty good backs, and I've always thought of them as the saddle for the "dippy" backed horse. But now I'm wondering - would they be better for her?

My advice after going through saddle-fitting !bleep! would be to demo everything you can get your hands on. Even if something seems like a good candidate based on a description, or even a wither tracing, there is no substitute for trying it for *at least a week*.

Another piece of advice is not to let yourself get talked into a custom saddle. The WORST experience I ever had was going for a custom saddle that the saddle maker said would be ideal for my horse's shorter back. What I ended up with was a bucking bronco when the saddle arrived. An independent fitter and 1/2 dozen people at my barn all said the same thing - looked like it was made for a different horse. Got my money back but what I nightmare!

1 members found this post helpful.

Lowcountry- btw the swamp & the deerstand

Default Black Country Vinici

Try to demo one of these saddles with upswept panels covered with serge. I've found it to be a very back friendly saddle for my 15'1" who wears a 74" blanket.