The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default What's the best way to handle mild (?) dog aggression?

This is my first time dealing with this and I don't want to make it worse.

Dog is a 2-ish Basset/Pitbull/maybe JRT mix that I adopted last fall. Her temperament is mostly Basset with a little more get up and go. Not an aggressive thought in her head towards humans and she loves, loves, loves all familiar dogs. The first meeting and seeing strange dogs is always rough, though, and I believe it's fear related. I've run through all my friend and family dogs and we've had several good experiences with random dogs on walks.

Now that the weather is nice and people are out with their dogs everywhere, it's becoming a daily issue where they want the dogs to meet. I always say she's not good with strange dogs but I'd be willing to give it a try. Most people are respectful and good at reading her and their own dog's body language but I'm running into more and more people who don't get it. She can be standing there with her tail under her legs, hair raised and growling non-stop and they keep letting their dog get in her face, even after I walk away. She has never tried to jump on another dog and I don't ever want it to go there!

Distraction when passing dogs on the street or just having a conversation 10 feet apart before the dogs go nose to nose has worked very well for her, but not everyone gives her the space to "get over it". Knowing that she ultimately does like and want to please other dogs, I'm torn between being happy with what I have now and telling everyone no, or hoping that she'll get better with 100 more experiences. Even if some of them are bad. She loves to go places, meet people and play with dogs she knows so I'd hate to keep her in a bubble because of this.

Ooops, I forgot to ask my main question...