The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Why not tow a 2-horse stock with my Tahoe?

I'm a complete noob to owning my own horse. I hope to get a stock trailer this year...sometime. Anyway, I have a '97 Chevy Tahoe and was planning on using it to tow the stock. I've read threads that seem to imply this might be a bad idea. It's never really spoken of directly, but in a way that makes me think for most people this is understood.

Please tell me about towing a stock trailer with my Tahoe.

I have no other vehicle.

Thanks,
    Paula
    He is total garbage! Quick! Hide him on my trailer (Petstorejunkie).

A 97 Tahoe is a full sized SUV so it's built on the same weight frame as a 1500 Silverado. As long as you have a V8 in it which I believe they all did, and you have a FACTORY tow package then you should be fine. Make sure it's a factory package and not that someone just stuck a hitch on the back. The factory packages have other things like extra cooling for the transmission and other such helpful stuff. When towing with a 1/2 ton truck(which it is) I also prefer it to be a 4x4 as they tend to have heavier suspension. I always cringe when I see a truck towing anything and the tires are practically rubbing the wheel wells! I'm sure you'll hear that OMG you need a 3/4 ton diesel to tow anything and all such stuff, but really any 1/2 ton truck can handle a 2 horse trailer! (oh, I'm one of those people who has a big diesel truck too)

It's the smaller SUVs with short wheel bases and such that are not a good idea to tow with. You pretty much have a Silverado with an enclosed bed! You'll be fine.