The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default New and Different Amateur Status Question

I am not currently showing at all. If and when I decide to get back in the show ring, I will certainly call USEF to get the definitive answer. In the meantime, I wondered what COTH might have to say about this situation...

I am currently an Equine Science Lecturer at a four-year university. My duties include teaching undergraduate courses in equine science and husbandry and advising the horse-related clubs at the school. As part of this, I am an advisor for our equestrian team. Mostly I sign paperwork and try to oversee team activities, but I will also be attending shows with the team, wiping boots, and, I'm sure, providing input/encouragement when needed. So....how does that affect (or not) my amateur status? I can see it going either way.
    Last edited by Montanas_Girl; Sep. 3, 2011 at 08:58 PM.

I think you are smart to check with USEF when the time comes .

That being said, IMO you would be a proffesional not an amature. It sounds like, as part of your employment, you will be helping the riders out by providing feedback (coaching). Also, I am not sure what you mean by "overseeing team activiites" so I don't know if there is anything problematic there.
    Auventera Two:Some women would eat their own offspring if they had some dipping sauce.

You can't be one if you can't spell it. Amateur.

Quote Originally Posted by Seal Harbor View Post
    You can't be one if you can't spell it. Amateur.
    Ack! I am normally more careful about those kinds of things. Thanks for the double-check!