The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Sudden unexplained bucking in mare...ideas please???!!

Hey everyone! I am new to the COTH forums but have quickly found that you guys have a lot of experience to draw from. I am looking for some input on some sudden behavioral changes in my mare that I am trying to get to the bottom of.

She is a 9 or 10 year old mare who was a pasture puff til I acquired her in 2008 and started her undersaddle. She is an opinionated, fairly bossy mare who is very expressive - tosses her head a bit, etc. However, she has never offered to come off the ground ever. She bucked one time after starting over crossrails, just got excited. Other than that, in the two and a half years I have been riding her, she has never come off the ground.

We have been doing great work this past winter and made some HUGE progress in her flatwork. Everything was going really well, working consistently 5 days a week. Flash forward to the last couple weeks. Came out to ride one day, and she started crowhopping around anytime I asked her to trot. Got a few good steps and quit. Checked everything I could think of, couldn't come up with anything. Next day, same thing. Two days later, she popped an abscess in her front hoof, even though she never took an off step. We treated the abscess, it is now completely healed, and she went back to work this past weekend. We figured the behavior issues were tied to the pain in her hoof, even though she wasn't off. Same thing happened. As soon as I asked for the trot, she started hopping, kicking out with her back feet, and finally threw in a BIG buck - enough to nearly unseat me, and I am pretty secure in the tack.