The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Hello, any Morgan dressage riders/Morgan

sport horse owners in this forum? I am new to the online Chronicle. I'm a dressage rider who owns, shows and breeds a Morgan horse. Seeking same!

I am not a Morgan owner but I love them. I rode at UConn and that's all we had. They have the best brains and try so hard to do what you want. They're hardy and pretty too. Good luck with yours!

Mine's rehabbing from a suspensory surgery and has a mixed prognosis at best, but I am a Morgan fan all the way... I bought her for eventing, but neither she nor I can jump anymore. She's a very intense, smart horse, with a lot of spice, like a lot of Morgans. Not a great choice for a first horse, in retrospect, but I'll be crushed if I have to retire her.

She has schooled Second and competed at First, before I bought her, and is a fiend for lateral work. We'd just done training level before her lameness cropped up, with some, um, adventures along the way. We were actually on a break from dressage when it happened, just over a year ago. She had surgery in March and I've been riding her since October, only walk and trot and we have just started doing turns at the trot, trotting all the way around the indoor etc.

Her name is Mythic Feronia, and she's turning 13 this year. And she's beautiful, and did I say beautiful?

Hollyhobbies: I noted that your mare is a Justawee horse. I looked there, back when I was looking in 2008, and actually found a mare I loved (not bred by J), but she got sold before I had a chance to have my horse-expert friend look at her. I really liked that farm and its people, though.
    You have to have experiences to gain experience.

Proudly owned by Mythic Feronia, 1998 Morgan mare; G-dspeed Trump & Minnie; welcome 2014 Morgan filly MtnTop FlyWithMeJosephine