The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Silly questions from a newbie!

I am going to a combined training show in a couple of weeks, and I had some questions about dressage after a friend and I ran through the test for the first time this morning.

1. Does it matter what hand you drop for your salute?
    2. a)Does it matter what hand you carry your whip in?
    b) Do you change it when you change direction, or leave it in one hand the whole test?
    3. If you actually USE said whip, do you get marked down? (I assume so)

I think that's it for now, but I'm sure I'll have more closer to the time... thanks!

1. I was taught to drop the right hand. Always have, assume (hope) that's correct. I've been doing it that way since 1989, no one has complained yet.
    2. Carry your whip wherever you're most comfortable.
    3. I don't change whip hands-I'm too clumsy and if I did, I'd probably forget the next movement.
    4. I just learned this past winter that one should never salute with a whip in your saluting hand. Apparently it is a rude gesture toward the judge. This was news to me and to the judge I asked about it. Anyone else know this one?
    Whips are, for me, newly allowed equipment. Carrying a whip in dressage used to be cause for elimination so I'm only getting used to carrying one now. Have fun at your show!
    Proud and achy member of the Eventing Grannies clique.

I didn't know that the whip rule had changed! Double check the CANADIAN rules to make sure it's allowed for dressage where you are

If so...

1. Yes, saltue with your right hand. If you're carrying a whip in your right hand, grab the top with your left hand when you gather the reins; the previous poster is correct that it's rude to have it in your hand while you salute.

2. Switch whip hands if necessary, but don't feel you have to. Make sure you can do so gracefully if you think you might need to.