The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

North of the Frozen Tundra, but I can see it from my house.

Default A weighty subject

Weight and using it. For years I was taught by various wonderful and well intentioned instructors, to weight my inside or outside seatbone heavier, as an aid for various movements. I am now learning to keep the weight equal, but perhaps the position of the seatbones changes; one may be forward a bit, along the same plane one in asking the horse to maintain his hips. This makes a lot of sense, because, by weighting one over another, naturally one becomes unbalanced.

Discuss?

Spot on on the new advice. In a sense you should *float* over your horse's center of gravity by following the movement natually with you buns lightly stuck to the saddle like velcro It's a dance.

this seems to be a never ending process... i'm still learning to undo many years of "lack of equitation" and hunter riding, so the fact I can keep my butt in the saddle is a big deal..but I know there is more than that; and you have described the next steps pretty darn well...

I've ridden under a few dressage instructors and been told opposite things about weight, particularly in respect to lateral work. One instructor advised that to move the horse right, you put weight heavily in left thigh, thereby asking the horse to move away from the weight. Another instructor was pretty much the opposite. She explained that you should not put weight on the left to move the horse to the right, but rather put slightly more weight in the right seatbone, encouraging the horse to move to stay under you weight!

OP, your latest advice seems to have both of them beat, IMO.
    2007 Welsh Cob C X TB GG Eragon
    Our training journal.
    1989-2008 French TB Shamus Fancy
    I owned him for fifteen years, but he was his own horse.