The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Ear Plugs or ??

I made a very interesting discovery yesterday morning.

I started riding during a break between two lessons. We had gotten about 10-15 min of work in and my gelding was going beautifully, I was really pleased.

Lesson started and within minutes my guy was very uncomfortable, he is a bit of worrier and this particular instructor is a "screamer". Looking back I now realize that Sunday mornings, while this particular lesson is going on, my rides are always less than satisfactory. (BTW, I've bumped into this lesson on and off since this past Dec.)

Part of me says "work thru it", he needs to get used to it.
    Part of me says, try ear plugs. I could also try and re-arrange my morning, so that I ride earlier, but that's not always an option. Any thoughts?

I think it depends on what you eventually want out of your horse. If you ever plan on going to a horse show, I would just "grin and bear it" in this case. There are many a show scene that has situations just like that, and at that moment is when you need to be your best. I know it stinks to have to work through because you're not getting any attention by your horse, but it can be helpful to desensitize him.
    http://dressageesquire.blogspot.com
    "The ability to write a check for attire should not be confused with expertise. Proficiency doesn't arrive shrink-wrapped from UPS and placed on your doorstep."

I agree with Quest 52. It may be a good learning experience for your horse. I'd try to push through if you plan on showing (loudspeakers at shows will probably be worse). Another thought is that you may be tensing up a lot during these lessons because the instructor is stressing YOU out which is then influencing your horse. Stay calm and centered yourself and breathe deeply during your lesson to see if it changes anything.