The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Katie0104 Guest

Default I want to start a Horse Rescue

I want to start a nonprofit horse rescue and have no idea where to start. I am 28 and have been riding/showing horses my entire life and have done pretty much everything around a horse farm. This is something I have wanted to do for a long time and I feel that now I am ready. I have an MBA from a really good school and can do everything as far as that part goes. I am currently a senior financial analyst in a business development area so writing/reviewing business plans and financials is what I do. I feel really compelled to do this but though I have a good amount of business knowledge, I have no idea where to start with a nonprofit.
    Can anyone help me figure out where to start? I know I can make this work and like I said, this is something I have thought about for a really long time and I feel now with my education and experience I could really do it.
    Thanks in advance. I am in the central Virginia area.

Are you independently wealthy? Just had to throw that out there.

I would highly suggest that you offer your business skills to an established rescue for a year or so. Learn the day to day operations of both sides, the farm and the office. Rescue can be much different than the average day to day farm life and a background in equine care is especially helpful. Running a non-profit is different in many ways than other business pursuits as well.

Learn who the players are in your area. The vets, the farriers, the feed places and the contractors. Earn their respect volunteering and when you decided to go out on your own they will most likely offer to help.