The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default When do you call it quits?

Sorry CoTH'ers it seems like lately all I'm doing is complaining Need some collective wisdom from you all, and maybe a swift kick in the a$$ to help me figure things out...

Long and the short of it...I'm a student in college (yes, another broke student having cash issues, I apologise) entering my first of a minimum of 3 years in my chosen program. While cash has been tight, and time has been tighter, I decided to try *again* to part board my horse, despite every experience I have had being a bad one. I did manage to find a part boarder, and thought things would be great. All was well for a while, and then she told me she couldn't afford to part board anymore. This didn't come as a surprise to me, and I had been planning to have a talk with her as she had not listened to my instructions, and was not riding my horse as per our agreement, and she had been steadily losing interest as the months wore on. Lessons got cancelled, payments came late, and finally it was enough. I had started to see inklings of my horse starting to be a bit...problematic in September, but I attributed it to my being busy, out of shape and already tense myself from school. Had I known then it would be such a problem later on down the ine, I would have called it quits then and there with the PB'er.