The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default My hips are locking up...Help please

I have always had issues with my hips locking up, for lack of a better word. It happens one at a time, and the pain is bad when it happens. It sometimes gets tight in the front where the upper thigh connects to the hip, and sometimes in my butt. It started a few years ago when I started riding dressage. But seems to be getting worse, more often. I can usually stand up in my stirrups and lean forward and it will lighten up. It does remain sore for a few hours. It happens more on my older, more trained horse, but sometime happens on the young horse too.

Anyone else have this problem? Any tips or exercises to help prevent them?

Stretching exercises daily.

Default need some clarification........

This sounds somewhat suspicious so to make sure:

First sentence is "always"........

Fourth sentence is "started several years ago with dressage"...

So which is it?
    The first is indicative of a genetic instability.

Second is indicative of arthritic changes.......which could be a byproduct of the instability.

Also, age and number of years on the horse would be helpful.

Regards,
    Medical Mike
    equestrian medical researcher
    www.equicision.com

Tallyyo Guest