The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default For you physicians out there...

How hard is it to mange being an MD with horses. Do you find that finances make it more feasible to pay for your horsey passion but you don't have enough time to ride? What about juggling family, horses, and your profession? I'm an undergraduate trying to decide between PT, MD or a PhD program. Any insight would be appreciated!

Finally...back in civilization, more or less

I am not an MD... but have worked in medicine (on the business end of things) for many years. I think the answer to your question depends a great deal on what type of doctor you are talking about.

For instance, I work in radiology. The MDs in my practice put in quite a few years of additional schooling, but also have salaries that are well above what the typical primary care doctor receives. They also get quite a bit of time off - 12 weeks a year is not uncommon - which would provide quite a lot of time for riding, showing, etc.
    We move pretty fast for some rabid garden snails.
    -PaulaEdwina

Default Good thread!

I knew I wanted to return to riding once I finished school - and I knew a doctoral program (I went the clinical psychology route) would garner me a good enough paycheck to afford riding the way I wanted to.

I struggled with the MD/PhD thing, and ultimately chose the PhD route because it was what I wanted to do. I train medical residents now, and they have a pretty tough go of it, but life settles down for them, too. PT school seems to be pretty saturated right now (I work in neuro rehab, so I see a lot of PTs fresh from school). PA school may be similar.