The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Trainers - what would you do?

Sorry - long....I am a freelance instructor and work at about 4 different barns in my area, all of which have 1 or 2 other instructors. I just went pro again 2 months ago after a 7 yr break to go through those fun things life likes to throw at you. When I was pro before, in IN, I either owned my own barn, worked at a show barn or was a sole instructor in a private barn, so this little issue never really came up.

Recently a current client approached me saying that a fellow rider was interested in taking lessons with me. This barn is a co-op situation and there are a couple of other instructors at the barn. I talked to her after I had finished teaching and told her to contact me if interested. She called the other night and in the course of trying to set up a lesson, she tells me that certain days won't work because she rides with another instructor at that barn on those days. I asked why she wanted lessons with me and she said that she wanted an extra lesson a week and a fresh set of eyes and if she liked me might switch. Asked if she had discussed this with her current instructor and she had not.