The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Selle Francais Association?

So I am interested in breeding my TB mare to a Selle Francais. I went to look up the associating to see inspection dates and more information, but when I did, I saw that the North American Selle Francais Association, Inc. is no longer established. So, as a rookie, I have no idea where to look for more registration information.

Could someone please lead me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Maybe you should register your AMERICAN bred horse as American instead of with an association that is in another part of the world and doesn't have any bearing on what you are breeding here in the U.S.

In other words, would someone in France with a selle francias mare breeding her to an American TB stallion, then register that foal with an American registry? No. They are in France and would register the foal with their home based registry. So why do you think you should take an American TB mare, living in the U.S., bred to a French stallion and then register the foal in France?

Default Les Haras Nationaux

I work at a Selle Francais breeding facility in Florida, and we are doing all registrations through the French registry, Les Haras Nationaux. I have not heard of any inspections since the fall 2007 tour. I don't think they are out of the question, just prohibitively expensive as the inspector would have to come from France. I'm sure there are a few NASFA board members out there in COTH land that can answer this better than me. However, there is a contact in France, and since all this info is available on their website, I don't think they will mind me posting it in this thread. His name is Patrick Clarin, patrick.clerin@haras-nationaux.fr. Try emailing him, he is generally quite helpful.

Quote Originally Posted by tri View Post