The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Where is the FEI/Long Format

I was thinking this morning about some of the positive things to come out of the safety summit and the talks of late, and I had to wonder--where is the FEI?

I should preface this by saying that I am new to the discussion of the sport's governing processes, etc. I am not in the loop, am not informed (especially since I just joined this board and am just now learning about the ways in which to influence the sport's direction, etc), and I am not always aware of things going on or things that have already been discussed.

Anyway, I was wondering why our national organization is investigating, talking about the issues, etc. Isn't this a worldwide problem? Most of the deaths we've been discussing did NOT take place in this country; in fact, the big push wasn't Mia, Amanda, or Eleanor, but Darren and Laine (both of whom lived--they aren't counted among the 15--now 16). If people are dying everywhere, why isn't the FEI doing more to investigate causes? Why are they deferring to FNs? Why is the USEA paying for horse necropsies--shouldn't it be the FEI? How do we collect ideas about what's wrong and how to fix it from around the world--what's working so well that the Aussies and Kiwis haven't had the same deaths? What things are different in Europe/US (where all but one of the deaths have taken place) and what are some of the suggestions coming out of the UK, France, Germany, and Sweden, where the riders have died?